Blessed are Those Who Mourn (Part Two)

Blessed are Those Who Mourn: Part Two (Matthew 5:4)

I. Types of mourning in Scripture

A. Mourning over unfulfilled evil desire (1 Kings 21:4)
B. Human sorrow- mourning over the circumstances of life (2 Samuel 18:33; Genesis 23:2; Jeremiah 9:1; Acts 20:31; Isaiah 53:3)
C. Godly Sorrow- mourning over sin (Romans 5:10)

1. Mourning over personal sin (Psalm 51:3-4, 10-12; Luke 18:13; Acts 2:37)
2. Mourning over the sins of others (Daniel 9; Ezra 10:6; Jeremiah 9:1; Matthew 23:37; Psalm 119:136)
3. Divine comfort through union and communion with Christ (Isaiah 40:1, 53:5; James 4:8-10; 1 John 1:6-9)

Suggestions for Prayer: If you have allowed sin to rob you of your communion with the Lord, don’t let it continue a moment longer. Like David, in Psalm 51, confess your sin and know the joy of forgiveness.

For Further Study: Read Luke 15:11-24. How did the prodigal son deal with his sin?


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s